Back to the Writing Board

2014-Participant-Facebook-Cover

I’m doing it again. I’m doing it again! Writing, that is. Last week was my last day of classes; I finished my writing class and religious studies classes strong! I must say that both classes were very informative; not simply because both of my professors are husband and wife, but because I was able to apply what I learned from both classes into each class. If that makes sense. I’ve learned how to use metaphors in my writing and make my writing clear and concise. No more rambling on for pages and pages and losing focus of whatever I was talking about. I just praise God for getting me through those classes, and because of Him, I have two proud As on my report card, and I also thank Him for the previous training I received in writing. Without it, I would not be at the level I am at now.

Needless to say, the writing class was not as bad as I thought it would be. It was historical writing, and I am by no means a history major.  As I mentioned before, the class was about the Dust Bowl, and honestly, I became rather bored of it. I mean I could only picture dust billowing up out of the book I was reading, and it did not help at all that my campus is a mundane sepia color complemented by the equally brown kit foxes that roam about. In any case, to literally spice up my final paper, I decided to not only write on the Dust Bowl but the Great Migration in comparison with the Dust Bowl! Spicy, right? Like Tabasco!

Unfortunately, those are both broad topics, so I narrowed it down to the concept of independence according to Dust Bowl and Great Migration migrants! For those of you who don’t know, the Dust Bowl migrants are mostly white families (who were not all farmers contrary to popular belief) who moved from the Western South out West. The Great Migration consists of black families (also not all farmers) who moved from the South to the North during the same time period and because of some of the same reasons. It was quite a fun paper. It ended up being 16 pages, and I fretted a bit because the syllabus clearly says 10 pages. But what does 10 pages really mean? I mean especially when the preceding word before 10 pages is “roughly.” Now, what does roughly 10 pages really mean? Perhaps it means I can roughly be in that ballpark estimate of 10 pages? But it certainly cannot be 28 pages; the teacher made this clear to one of the overzealous students (you know…the ones with monotone voices who try to crack jokes with the teacher during class, and the teacher–and the class–stares at them un-amused).

Again, though, I thank the Lord for an A on that paper. I adamantly prayed over the rough draft and the final draft before I submitted it; I was very pleased with the grade I received. Thank You, Jesus!


During this wonderful time of writing, I’ve been working on a story with my friend. My style of writing has really improved; I still find myself nitpicking, though, but that’s to be expected. Now Camp Nanowrimo is underway, and I’ve longed to join it for years, but every time I remember it exists, it’s already over! Not this time Camp Nanowrimo! I have finally found your email in my inbox! All that I need to do now is come up with a convincing work of fiction to write about. I was thinking of perhaps picking up my old novel from Nanowrimo a couple years ago and revamping it; I am also considering writing a fresh piece of work. Who knows? As long as I’m writing, right?

Leave a Reply

